Congress Declarations

The Congress of South African Students gathered at Magalies Retreat Resort in the North West from the 21st to 23rd February 2020. The gathering was to reconvene the National Elective Congress due to the incident that happened on the 28th to 29th September 2019 which lead into the organization having parallel NEC’s.

The Congress reconvened under the theme ‘Unity for Educational Transformation’, this was to ensure that the organization is revived and ensures that the classroom struggle is championed. It is indeed a historic moment for the gigantic learner’s organization; we reconvene this congress with the aim of reuniting the base and taking COSAS Back to Basics.

The NEC is determined to ensuring that all spheres of the organization are united, learner’s issues are championed daily and the organization that is well known for mass mobilization gets back its title. It is our honor and indeed a great privilege for us as the 19th NEC to be afforded this rare historic opportunity, to represent all learners of the country.

Before we are learner’s we are members of the community, we are committing into ensuring that there is youth development and free quality equal education for all. We as congress resolved on the nationalization of private schools to ensure that the education system is equal and accessible to all, that there should no longer be any publication of matric results. Better schooling infrastructure, humanly school nutrition, a healthy and safe learning environment are our biggest priorities.

Schools security is to ensure that both learners and educator and the entire learning environment is safer. This NEC is also determined to ensuring that the dignity and safety of a girl child are restored. We as the NEC are to ensure the relationship and unity of our structures are intact to avoid parallelism, we have committed into ensuring that all structures that are due for congress will sit.

We as congress have resolved on calling our Back to School Campaigns the “Sandra Baloyi Back to School Campaign”, this is to ensure that the life of our 1st female president is celebrated and honored. As we continue to have the responsibility to represent genuine aspirations shared by pre-tertiary students all over the country, the development of rural areas schooling infrastructure is top of our priority. This is to ensure that we create a better future for our constituency and we represent them to the full level of our abilities.

COSAS declares that the organization will intensify Unity and rebuilding the organization, which leads us into having a strong learner’s voice. Gender-based violence remains at the apex of our agenda; we are saying there will not be any form of Violence in our schools in our presence. Being an organization born into the struggles of the mass democratic movement led by the ANC, it affirms our continued support for the program of radical economic transformation as adopted by the 2017 NASREC congress of the ANC.

As the 19th National congress successfully concludes business even after there was an attempt to collapse congress, we have noted the entire learners’ populace and youth are waiting for its resolution. We have noted with great sadness the behavior of a small part of delegates that ended up putting the lives of all delegates at risk and we are committing into ensuring that such never happens again. As delegates return back to their province, regions, and sub-branches happy that congress concludes its business. COSAS is committed into ‘Unity for Education Transformation’.

The following constitute the National Executive Committee duly elected at the 19th National Congress:

President: Thabang Mokoena (M)
Deputy President: Caroline Sakiele (F)
Secretary General: Teboho Magafane (M)
1st Deputy Secretary General: Scelo Mandlazi (M)
2nd Deputy Secretary General: Xola Booi (F)
Treasurer General Abishel Ntshweng (M)

Directly elected members
1. Schumile Plaatjie (M) EC
2. Sereta Madwara (F) EC
3. Alupheli Mgoduka (F)  EC
4. Olwethu Mantantana (M)  EC
5. Koketso Macheke (F) NW
6. Masego Mulutse (F) NW
7. Bongane Ndlovu (M) NW
8. Nkosazana Mazibuko (F) FS
9. Sfiso Dlamini (M) MP
10. Sinenhlanhla Radebe (F) MP
11. Jessica Maseko (F) MP
12. Thabang Maimela (M) GP
13. Koena Mpya (M) GP
14. Karabo Lehutjo (F) GP
15. Cebolenkosi Khumalo (M) KZN
16. Sandiso Zulu (M) KZN
17. Pearl Ngcobo (F) KZN
18. Olwethu Xhala (F) WC
19. Sinalo Vuntu (F) WC
20. Phenyo Moruri (F) NC
21. Cordelia Bosch (F) NC
22. Tshepiso Matsoatsoa (M) NC
23. Koketso Mulaudzi (F) LP
24. Vumbuwa Mashiane (M) LP
25. Douglas Ngobeni (M) LP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.